St. James's Gate Brewery is a brewery founded in 1759 in Dublin, Ireland, by Arthur Guinness. The company is now a part of Diageo, a company formed from the merger of Guinness and Grand Metropolitan in 1997. The main product of the brewery is Guinness Draught.Originally leased in 1759 to Arthur Guinness at IR£45 (Irish pounds) per year for 9,000 years, St. James's Gate has been the home of Guinness ever since. It became the largest brewery in Ireland in 1838, and the largest in the world by 1886, with an annual output of 1.2 million barrels. Although no longer the largest brewery in the world, it is still the largest brewer of stout in the world. The company has since bought out the originally leased property, and during the 19th and early 20th centuries the brewery owned most of the buildings in the surrounding area, including many streets of housing for brewery employees, and offices associated with the brewery. The brewery also made all of its own power using its own power plant.There is an attached exhibition on the 250-year-old history of Guinness, called the Guinness Storehouse.HistoryArthur Guinness started brewing ales in Leixlip, County Kildare, and then from 1759 at the St. James's Gate Brewery in Dublin. On 31 December he signed a 9,000-year lease at £45 per annum for the unused brewery. However, the lease is no longer in effect because the brewery property has been bought out when it expanded beyond the original 4-acre site.
O'Connell Street is Dublin's main thoroughfare. It measures 49 m (54 yds) in width at its southern end, 46 m (50 yds) at the north, and is 500 m (547 yds) in length. During the 17th century it was a narrow street known as Drogheda Street (named after Henry Moore, Earl of Drogheda). It was widened, and renamed 'Sackville Street' (named after Lionel Sackville, 1st Duke of Dorset) in the late 1700s until 1924, when it was renamed in honour of Daniel O'Connell, a nationalist leader of the early 19th century, whose statue stands at the lower end of the street, facing O'Connell Bridge.IntroductionLocated in the heart of Dublin city, O'Connell Street forms part of a grand thoroughfare created in the 18th century that runs through the centre of the capital, O'Connell Bridge, Westmoreland Street, College Green and Dame Street, terminating at City Hall and Dublin Castle. Situated just north of the River Liffey, the street has a fine axial positioning, running close to a north-south orientation. Lined with many handsome buildings, O'Connell Street is the most monumental of Dublin's commercial streets, having been largely rebuilt in the early 20th century following extensive destruction in the struggle for Irish independence and subsequent civil war. It has the air of an imposing 1920s boulevard, with signature stone-faced neoclassical buildings such as Clerys department store complemented by the more subtle grain of elegant bank and retail premises. O'Connell Street Upper by contrast retains something of its original 18th century character, with the western side conforming to original plot widths and some original fabric still intact.
Heuston Station is one of Ireland's main railway stations, serving the south, southwest and west. It is operated by Iarnród Éireann, the national railway operator. It also houses the head office of its parent company - Córas Iompair Éireann.HistoryThe station opened on 4 August 1846 as the terminus and headquarters of the Great Southern and Western Railway (GS&WR). It was originally called Kingsbridge Station after the nearby Kings Bridge over the River Liffey. In 1966, on the 50th anniversary of the Easter Rising it was renamed "Heuston Station", in honour of Sean Heuston, an executed leader of the Rising, who had worked in the station's offices.Designed by Sancton Wood, the handsome original buildings remain. The five panels along the front represent, in order: VIII.VIC - being the Act of Parliament that incorporated the GS&WR Coat of Arms of Cork City Coat of Arms of Dublin City Coat of Arms of Limerick City AD. 1844 - being the year of incorporation of the GS&WR Since its renewal (by Quinn Savage Smyth architects and engineers Buro Happold) it includes two branches of Eason's, as well as some dining facilities, including a Supermacs and a pub.
In 2008, a car park in a forgotten corner of Dublin was transformed into an experimental space that would bridge art and science, unleashing their combined creative potential. Over 1.9 million visitors to Science Gallery Dublin have experienced exhibitions ranging from living art experiments to materials science, to the future of the human race to the future of play. We develop an ever-changing programme of exhibitions and events fuelled by the expertise of scientists, researchers, students, artists, designers, inventors, creative thinkers and entrepreneurs.
Natural History MuseumDistance: 0.4 miTourist Information Merrion Street, Dubin 2 Dublin, Ireland
Ireland's Natural History Museum (Músaem Stair an Dúlra), sometimes called the Dead Zoo a branch of the National Museum of Ireland, is housed on Merrion Street in Dublin, Ireland. The museum was built in 1856 for parts of the collection of the Royal Dublin Society and building and collection were later passed to the Irish State.The Museum's collection and building have changed little since Victorian times, and it is sometimes described as a "museum of a museum".CollectionThe building is a ‘cabinet-style’ museum designed to showcase a wide-ranging and comprehensive zoological collection, and has changed little in over a century. Often described as a ‘museum of a museum’, its 10,000 exhibits provide a glimpse of the natural world that has delighted generations of visitors since the doors opened in 1857.As the collection is unique in range and vintage, the exhibits are a product of their age, with faded and worn pelts and visible marks from bullets and rough taxidermy. Larger specimens are displayed in large, wood-framed glass cases while smaller ones are kept under glass, protected from sunlight by moveable leather panels. The main room is heated by an underfloor system similar to a Roman hypocaust.The Irish Room, the ground floor of the museum, displays Irish animals, notably several mounted skeletons of giant Irish deer. Numerous skulls of those and other deer line the walls. Stuffed and mounted mammals, birds, fish — and insects and other animals native to or found in Ireland — comprise the rest of the ground floor. Many of the specimens of currently extant animals, such as badgers, hares, and foxes, are over a century old. A basking shark hangs from this ceiling.
The Four Courts is Ireland's main courts building, located on Inns Quay in Dublin. The Four Courts are the location of the Supreme Court, the High Court and the Dublin Circuit Court. Until 2010 the building also housed the Central Criminal Court.Gandon's BuildingWork based on the design of Thomas Cooley for the Public Records Office of Ireland, began in 1776. After his death in 1784 renowned architect James Gandon was appointed to finish the building, which we recognise today as the Four Courts. It was built between 1786 and 1796, while the finishing touches to the arcades and wings were completed in 1802. The lands were previously used by the King's Inns. The building originally housed the four courts of Chancery, King's Bench, Exchequer and Common Pleas, hence the name of the building. A major revision in the court system in the late nineteenth century saw these courts merged into a new High Court of Ireland, but the building has retained its historic name. This courts system remained until 1924, when the new Irish Free State introduced a new courts structure, replacing the High Court of Ireland, the Lord Chief Justice of Ireland and the Lord Chancellor of Ireland with a Supreme Court of Justice presided over by the Chief Justice and a High Court of Justice, presided over by the President of the High Court. In 1961 the words "of justice" were dropped from the names of both courts when they were belatedly re-established consequent upon the enactment of the 1937 Constitution.
We offer 100% real muay thai training. All our classes our taught by experienced trainers who have taken their training methods from the top camps in Thailand. We operate a strict ego free training environment. Beginners welcome.
Get in touch to try out a class and become part of our Lionheart family.
Performance Training SystemsDistance: 0.2 miTourist Information Unit E Mounttown Industrial Estate Lower Mounttown Road Dublin, Ireland Dublin 0873634434
Performance Training Systems we provide world-class personal training/Nutrition for
athletes and non athletes
Performance Training Systems Classes
.Body Blast .Legs/Bum Blast
.Circuits .Calorie Burner
Performance Training Systems Challenges.
.Total Body .Kettlebell
.Kettlebell .Olympic lifts
.Eendurance .Weight Loss
.Bulgarian bag .Caveman Training
Outfront.ie organises lots of popular, fun and value for money races. We organise Runamuck - Ireland's most popular off road running event along with lots of Urban trail running, Achill ROAR Adventure race and the Athlone 3/4 Marathon.
With all our races we pride ourselves in providing well organised, fun and friendly events that are good value for money.
Our most popular races include the Urban Trail Series, Athlone 3/4 Marathon, Runamuck Challenge and Achill ROAR.
My name is Elaine and I am a fully qualified fitness instructor and personal trainer.
If your interested in getting fit or shifting those extra pounds don't hesitate to get in contact..
Is available for one on one sessions and will be setting up classes in the near future. Stay tuned..
Thunder Road Café is Dublin's hippest theme restaurant, slap bang in the heart of trendy Temple Bar. We offer a very extensive menu which contains a very generous selection of appetising dishes. Great music and party atmosphere 7 days/nights a week. DJ's every Friday & Saturday from 7pm, playing all your favourite music. Got as request? You can now text your request to the DJ. Thunderroad Cafe, Home of the Thunder text.
The Library of Trinity College Dublin serves Trinity College and the University of Dublin. It is the largest library in Ireland and, as a legal deposit or "copyright library", it has rights to receive material published in the Republic of Ireland free of charge; it is also the only Irish library to hold such rights for the United Kingdom. The Library is the permanent home to the famous Book of Kells. Two of the four volumes are on public display, one opened to a major decorated page and the other to a typical page of text. The volumes and pages shown are regularly changed. Members of the University of Dublin also have access to the libraries of Tallaght Hospital and the Irish School of Ecumenics, Milltown.
Brown Thomas has long been established as a landmark destination for both Irish & international fashionistas – it proudly takes its place on the international stage of luxury retailing.
Brown Thomas is part of a global retail family that attracts the best luxury brands and the most innovative designers. Featuring the world's most prestigious luxury boutiques such as Hermés, Chanel and Louis Vuitton, Brown Thomas is also home to over 200 labels, which are carefully selected from around the globe and edited specifically to our customers tastes and lifestyles.
Brown Thomas has achieved pre-eminent status, a store that is listed among the best in the world, yet one that remains quintessentially Irish.
Experience the Extraordinary.
BROWN THOMAS DUBLIN
88-95 Grafton Street
Dublin 2, Ireland
T. +353 1 605 6666
BROWN THOMAS CORK
18-21 Patrick Street
T. +353 21 480 5555
BROWN THOMAS LIMERICK
14 - 16 O'Connell Street
T. +353 61 417 222
BROWN THOMAS GALWAY
18-21 Eglinton Buildings
T. +353 91 565 254
Legends bar offers an excellent choice of food and drink, friendly service and a variety of entertainment.
Our Award Winning Celtic night Dinner and show features some of Dublin’s finest musicians and is performed every night by the highly acclaimed celtic rhythm dance troop.
Our very talented chefs pride themselves on their traditional Irish menu including famous Irish stew and delicious sea food served daily until 9pm.
We offer a taste of tradition with Modern flair……
The bar is located on the ground floor of the Arlington Hotel in the heart of Dublin’s medieval city.
Simply email [email protected] for more information or
call the Hotel to book your dinner and show
Follow us on Twitter @arlohotelsdub
Like us on Facebook; Arlington Temple bar
About The National Wax Museum Plus
The National Wax Museum Plus is an exciting interactive visitor attraction located in the heart of Dublin's city centre Temple Bar district and just off Dame Street. The museum is housed over four floors and 13,000 square feet in a historic Foster Place landmark building, previously the home for Ireland's gold store and arms at the turn of the last century!
The museum is an outstandingly original visitor attraction and has been designed to deliver an interactive experience taking you on a journey through Irish cultural heritage, an enchanting children's zone of discovery, Ireland's only dedicated tribute to our top scientific inventors, a green screen video room, a fully functioning recording studio and all the exceptional life like wax work characters you can expect at the national wax museum.
The National Wax Museum Plus offers a museum experience unlike any other, whether you are young or old, a culture vulture or fun seeker, male or female, star struck or star studded, The National Wax Museum Plus is the ultimate entertainment experience for all.
Viking Splash Tours offers an engaging, interactive experience for all kinds of groups! Not only are we Dublin’s only amphibious tour, showcasing our city by land and water, we are also a real, living theatre. With flexible and customised tours for groups or individuals, Viking Splash Tours can provide a platform for a range of occasions from team-building to birthdays, hen parties to family reunions.
Come and visit the first new distillery in Dublin in over 125 years and experience the only operational distillery in the city. From the local artist exhibition space, the tour of the distillery and premium whiskey tasting at the end – come experience the Spirit of Dublin for yourself. The new Teeling Whiskey Distillery has just opened its doors to the public and all of #TeamTeeling are looking forward to welcoming you and showing you all we have to offer!
Stephen's Green Shopping Centre is a large indoor shopping centre located at the top of Grafton Street in the Southside of Dublin City. It is named after St. Stephen's Green, a nearby park (its street address is Stephens Green West).HistoryThe Dandelion Market, well known as the site of U2's earliest gigs and its array of stalls selling punk badges, clothes and posters was situated in the area the shopping centre now resides in. The site had been assembled over the years by the Slazanger family.The market, which closed in 1981, is commemorated with a plaque, while Sinnotts Bar on South King Street is the only part of the original site that remains. Work began on the St. Stephen's Green Shopping Centre in 1985, with the whole project taking three years to complete. The centre officially opened its doors on 8 November 1988.ShopsThe centre has over 100 outlets. Major franchises include Dunnes Stores, Boots, Gamestop and TK Maxx. Examples of other, more independent shops include the gothic and alternative clothes shop Asha, leading Irish men's branded fashion clothing store 'Counterpropaganda' and the wrestling devoted shop Wrestling Mania. It also houses a 'Big & Tall' mans shop called Kingsize Menswear and has a large food court.
Dublinia is one of Dublin’s top visitor attractions with three exciting exhibitions, Viking Dublin, Medieval Dublin and History Hunters! All located at the historic crossroads of old Dublin.
The Viking and Medieval Dublin exhibitions bring the city to life in an exciting and contemporary way for all ages. Unearth the city’s past at the History Hunters exhibition and see Dublin from a new perspective.
Come away knowing more about the citizens of Dublin throughout the ages!
An Post's GPO Witness History is an engaging, interactive visitor attraction bringing history to life through technology, video, sound and authentic artefacts - many previously unseen.
GPO Witness History, an immersive experience will give visitors plenty to think about, to digest and to discuss while they relax in the café, browse the giftshop or take time to savour the unique atmosphere of the rooftop courtyard.
Most of all it will be a national visitor attraction of which we can all be proud and we look forward to welcoming you there from next Easter onwards.
:::Striving for sartorial and tonsorial excellence since 1946:::
We operate a mobile service - traditional men's barbershop | shaving | hot-towel head massage HAIRCUTS | SHAVES | HEAD MASSAGES | 1929 - 2012 Celebrating 83 years of mens' grooming in Dublin!
Have fun with your child designing your FUNITURE masterpiece. With a strong robust frame this furniture will last for years and be the talk of the classroom! There's no limits to what we can wrap around our cushioned frames to guarantee a seamless quality piece of furniture. Contact Kieran for a quote.