Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre London, United Kingdom SE1 8XX 020 7960 4200
Royal Festival Hall stands at the heart of Southbank Centre complex. Opened in 1951 as part of the Festival of Britain, the Hall is one of the world’s leading performance venues.
As well as the auditorium, the building contains The Clore Ballroom, Southbank Centre Shop, several places to eat and drink, and the Saison Poetry Library.
An uninterrupted, breathtaking, 360° view of London, stretching for miles, is just one of many unique features to be found at Altitude London.
Housed in the historic Millbank Tower, the tallest Riverside building on the Thames, Altitude hosts a luxury suite of five event spaces with a total area of 4,000m2. Ideally placed and designed to suit a range of events, Altitude helps the world's leading companies hold fantastic meetings and events every day. Not only that, watch out for offers on high rise private parties, unforgettable weddings and our own incredible and exclusive experiences.
On the 28th floor of Millbank Tower, Lobster London offers gourmet food while the eyes feast on stunning 360-degree panoramas of London. This warehouse-style establishment is London’s tallest riverside restaurant and cocktail bar, promising a unique dinner in the sky.
With reclaimed wooden floors, exposed brick walls, and wall-length windows, Lobster London restaurant sets the scene for an unforgettable dining experience. Mood lighting and music create a chilled ambience which complements the dramatic cityscape backdrop. Contemporary British art and interiors adorn the dining room, and attentive diners will spot the Banksy graffiti replicas. At the heart of Lobster London restaurant is the bar, where guests can enjoy classic cocktails while nestled in plush window booths.
Highlights of the Lobster London menu include grilled fresh lobster dishes and a range of 10oz burgers - like the pulled pork burger - or the lobster tower sharing platter for 3-4 people. All dishes are served on a wooden board, with crunchy French fries and fresh salad. For dessert, the choices range from a classic banoffee pie to a chocolate extravaganza, or even a Guinness milkshake.
With unobstructed views of landmarks such as the Houses of Parliament, The Shard, The Gherkin and Canary Wharf, Lobster London in Westminster is just a 10-minute walk from Pimlico Tube Station.
Perched high at the top of The Millbank Tower in the heart of London. This sexy and spacious new watering hole will be a must visit addition to the Capitals social scene. THE LONDON SKY BAR is the proud winner of the Best New London Bar in the London Bar & Club Awards
With over 300 years of history from its original conception in 1710, St John’s Smith Square is one of London’s finest classical music concert venues and the UK’s only baroque concert hall.
This current 2016/17 season features over 300 concerts by internationally renowned musicians, emerging young artists, and amateur ensembles.
We are delighted to continue our partnership with Southbank Centre, hosting performances by their residences orchestra, the International Chamber Music Series, and the International Piano Series.
> An extensive selection of Beers: Belgian Specialties, Rare Brands, 4 Rotating Cask Ales on Tap
> Over 20 Excellent Brands of Whiskey!
>Large Function Room, with Private Bar available to hire for your next party
> Big Screens and Projectors to watch your favourite Sport Events live
> Lunch and evening menus feature excellent Traditional English Grub and International Favourites
> Sunday Roast
> Dog Friendly Pub
> Award-winning Budget Accommodation Upstairs
Central Hall Westminster Storey's Gate London, Westminster, LondonDistance: 0.7 miTourist Information 1 Storey's Gate, Westminster. SW1H 9NH London London, SW1H 9NH
As central London's largest Conference Venue, we create a spectacular atmosphere for your small and large events. Our clients value the remarkable range of flexible event spaces, stunning decor and natural light flooding our portfolio of 22 rooms. With a 100 year history in hosting events and overlooking London's most famous landmarks, this spacious Grade II listed venue is set to leave a lasting impression.
The venue offers world class facilities for high profile conferences, conventions, exhibitions and corporate events with capacity of up to 2,500 – hosting over 400 national and international events a year.
Situated in the shadow of Big Ben and Westminster Abbey, the Centre is served by outstanding transport links providing easy access to everything London has to offer and is within an hour’s transfer from five international airports.
Leith’s, our award winning in-house caterers can design tailored menus and suggest creative ways to accommodate special dietary requirements for your delegates.
Our experienced in-house AV and IT teams can advise on as well as implement your technical requirements. The centre has free Wi-Fi throughout and offers a brand new state-of-the art IPTV system.
The Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre, your venue partner in London.
Queen Elizabeth II Conference CentreDistance: 0.6 miTourist Information Broad Sanctuary, Westminster London, SW1P 3EE
The Queen Elizabeth II Centre is in the City of Westminster, London, close to the Parliament of the United Kingdom.HistoryThe site now occupied by the Queen Elizabeth II Centre was previously occupied by several buildings. At the northern end of the site were the headquarters of the Stationery Office which had originally been the "Parliamentary Mews" built in 1825 by Decimus Burton and converted in 1853-5. The southern side was occupied by the Westminster Hospital built by W & H W Inwood in 1831-4 and expanded later that century and in 1924. The previous buildings became surplus to requirements in 1950 and were demolished; designs were drawn up by Thomas Tait for building a new Colonial Office on the site; however only the foundations had been built by the time progress was halted in 1952.DesignIn 1958 it was decided that there would be an open space on the southern edge of the site by Broad Sanctuary, and an architectural competition for a conference hall and government offices was held in 1961. The competition was won by William Whitfield but the scheme was not progressed due to the plans for redeveloping Whitehall drawn up by Leslie Martin in 1965. The site remained in limbo until a feasibility study for the conference centre was drawn up in 1975. The centre as eventually built was designed by Powell Moya & Partners and constructed by Bovis Construction with work starting in 1981; it was opened by Queen Elizabeth II in 1986.
Proud to be a part of House of Vans, at The Wall SE1 we aim to provide a space for all to sit, relax, recharge, energise, fraternise and generally enjoy themselves; whether for a quick pit stop or a leisurely morning, The Wall's team will provide.
The Wall SE1 was set up in as the food and drink operation within House of Vans London, which opened August 2014. It provides food and drink for skaters, member of the public, for the array of events that take place within the space, and for special guests like the Foo Fighters, to Tony Alva, to Julian Casablancas, to Christian Hosoi.
Inspired by the New York brunch scene and London life, we’ve created a menu to showcase American style with British ingredients and flair. We hope to share our love of big flavours, seasonal ingredients, lip-smacking and finger-dripping dishes with you.
We plan to do this alongside cookery classes for kids (our very own 'skate 'n bake') and anything we can think of that will engage the members of our HOV community.
The meeting and conference facilities available offer flexible space for a range of events. Whether you simply need one boardroom or a large plenary with smaller breakouts; every event at One Great George Street is allocated a dedicated event co-ordinator. From the traditionally decorated rooms to the purpose-built theatres, your business event can also easily be combined with social entertaining.
As a well-established London wedding venue, the team at One Great George Street know just how to help make your day that extra special occasion. With a dedicated Wedding Co-ordinator and meticulous attention to detail you can be assured that your wedding reception will run perfectly!
One Great George Street, Westminster.Distance: 0.6 miTourist Information 1 Great George Street City of Westminster, SW1P 3AA
County Hall is a building in London that was the headquarters of London County Council and later the Greater London Council . The building is on the South Bank of the River Thames, with Westminster Bridge being next to it, heading south. It faces west toward the City of Westminster and is close to the Palace of Westminster. The nearest London Underground stations are and.Today, County Hall is the site of businesses and attractions, including the London Sea Life Aquarium, London Dungeon and a Namco Station amusement arcade. The London Eye is next to County Hall, and its visitor centre is inside the building. There is also a suite of exhibition rooms which was home to the Saatchi Gallery from 2003 to 2006. Other parts of the building house two hotels, several restaurants, and some flats. Various spaces are available for hire for functions, including the council chamber at the heart of the building. Until January 2010 the Dali Universe was also in the building but this has now closed and will be reopening in another venue soon.
Absolute party cruises London is home to MV Royalty, One of the oldest vessels on The River Thames. And guess what? She is available for you to hire, day or night... at really affordable prices!
We love throwing a party and can help you plan your event on the Thames and guarantee a party to remember.
Our captains will be seen daily behind on This Morning so give them a wave!
Take a look at our website for more information and like our page for tickets, news and competitions! Have a good day!
Nestled among the plants and ponds of St James's Park, Inn the Park is an innovative cafe restaurant that blends seamlessly into its surroundings to offer a natural oasis right in the heart of London.
Call: 020 7451 9999 BOOKING FORM
Inn the Park,
St James's Park,
London, SW1A 2BJ
15.00-17.00 Afternoon tea
09.00 - 11.00 Breakfast
12.00 - 15.00 Lunch
15.00 - 17.00 Afternoon tea
Click here to visit the website for The Royal Parks
Click here to visit the website for The Royal Parks
Early risers can enjoy the tranquillity of its setting with hearty (or healthy) breakfast from 8am, while mid-morning lovers can settle in for lazy coffees and homemade cakes after the morning rush whilst watching the wildlife from our beautiful terrace.
From midday our Restaurant lunch menu offers inspired seasonal dishes made from the finest British produce. We also have a self-service cafe, offering handmade treats with floor-to-ceiling windows providing picturesque views of the lush surroundings.
Since opening in 2007 the 1901 Arts Club has turned into the lively hub of London's artistic community that Joji Hattori envisaged when he started the project. Used as an events venue and a central and beautiful space to rehearse and make music, it's frequented by chamber music ensembles, soloists, orchestras and societies.
Located on the vibrant South Bank of the Thames, the 1901 Arts Club is a unique venue dedicated to supporting artistic expression and bringing together musicians, artists and persons who share an appreciation for the arts. Inspired by Europe's salon culture, the Club seeks to foster conversation, collaboration, and the exchange of ideas in an intimate setting... and now on Facebook.
The Club is an elegant venue that can be hired exclusively to host single or regular events, providing a private atmosphere not only conducive to informal gatherings, but also business meetings, public recitals, corporate entertainment and private parties.
We offer bespoke packages for celebrations, recitals or small conferences that include mouthwatering catering, fine hospitality and entertainment, should you require.
Built in 1901 as a schoolmaster's house, the building maintains its late Victorian exterior while the Club's beautifully decorated rooms re-create the intimate ambience of a private salon. With a performance space, meeting room, terrace and bar among its facilities, the venue offers opportunities to make music with colleagues and friends, to meet with like-minded people, and to enjoy gatherings of all genres.
The Mall is a road in the City of Westminster, central London, between Buckingham Palace at its western end and Trafalgar Square via Admiralty Arch to the east. Before it terminates at Whitehall it is met by Horse Guards Road and Spring Gardens where the Metropolitan Board of Works and London County Council were once based. It is closed to traffic on Sundays, public holidays and on ceremonial occasions.HistoryThe Mall began as a field for playing pall-mall. In the 17th and 18th centuries it was a fashionable promenade, bordered by trees.The Mall was envisioned as a ceremonial route in the early 20th century, matching the creation of similar ceremonial routes in other cities such as Berlin, Mexico City, Oslo, Paris, Saint Petersburg, Vienna and Washington, D.C. These routes were intended to be used for major national ceremonies. As part of the development – designed by Aston Webb – a new façade was constructed for Buckingham Palace, and the Victoria Memorial was erected.
The Embassy of Lithuania in London is the diplomatic mission of Lithuania in the United Kingdom.Originally based in Gloucester Place in Marylebone, the Embassy moved to its current location in Bessborough Gardens, Pimlico in 2011. In May 2016 Lithuania also opened a honorary consulate situated in the historic building of Ingress Abbey, Greenhithe, Kent.
Millbank Tower is a 118m high skyscraper in the City of Westminster at Millbank, by the River Thames in London.HistoryThe tower was constructed in 1963 for Vickers and was originally known as the Vickers Tower. It was designed by Ronald Ward and Partners and built by John Mowlem & Co. It is a landmark on the London skyline, standing beside the River Thames, half a mile upstream from the Palace of Westminster. The tower has been owned by David and Simon Reuben since 2002, while still being managed by its former owner Tishman Speyer Properties. It is a Grade II listed building.The 2003 edition of the Pevsner architectural guide says that the Millbank Tower is "one of the few London office towers to have won affection", and contrasts it with the "boxy structure" of the Shell Tower at Waterloo.OccupantsThroughout its history, the Millbank Tower has been home to many high-profile political and other organisations. From 1995 the Labour Party rented two floors in the base at the south of the site, for use as a general election campaign centre. Labour ran its 1997 General Election campaign from these offices; after the election, the party vacated its headquarters at John Smith House, Walworth Road SE17, to move to Millbank. Just five years later, however, the £1 million per annum rent forced the party to vacate the tower and take out a mortgage of £5.5 million to relocate to 16-18 Old Queen Street, overlooking St James's Park, which had 11,200 square feet of open plan premises.
The Conservative Campaign Headquarters, formerly known as Conservative Central Office is the headquarters of the British Conservative Party, housing its central staff and committee members. As of July 2016, the post of Conservative Party chairman is held by Patrick McLoughlin.EstablishmentThe establishment of Conservative Central Office dates back to 1871, with the creation of professional support for the Party by Sir John Gorst. Following election defeats in 1906 and 1910, in 1911 the post of Party Chairman was created to oversee the work of the Central Office.LocationUntil 1958 CCO was based at Abbey House, Victoria Street, London, then moving to No. 32 Smith Square, Westminster. This was the scene of many televised historic moments in Conservative history from Margaret Thatcher's victory rallies to Iain Duncan Smith's resignation. CCO moved in 2004 to nearby 25 Victoria Street for more high-tech facilities, and has subsequently been known as Conservative Campaign Headquarters (CCHQ).On 6 March 2007, CCHQ moved again, this time to 30 Millbank, Westminster; part of the property portfolio of David and Simon Reuben. On 10 February 2014, CCHQ moved to 4 Matthew Parker Street, London SW1H.
The Regency Café is an art deco style cafe in Regency Street, London. It first opened in 1946, and has been used as a filming location on several occasions. In 2013, it was voted as the fifth best restaurant in London by users of Yelp.DescriptionThe Regency Café opened in 1946 on Regency Street, London, near to the borders of Westminster and Pimlico. It was sold by the original owners to Antonio Perotti and Gino Schiavetta in 1986. It is now run by Antonio's daughter, Claudia and Gino's son Marco.The interior tiling is original, while the tables are newer and formica topped. Interior decorations include photographs of Tottenham Hotspur football players. The cafe is designed in an art deco style. The cafe has been featured as a filming location in several BBC series such as Judge John Deed, Rescue Me and London Spy. It has also appeared in the films Layer Cake and Brighton Rock as well as Pride In print, it has appeared in the Japanese version of the magazine Vogue and in a Volkswagen advertisement.
An island of green in a sea of traffic, a listed memorial to Michael Faraday that disguises an electricity substation, the Field of Hope and a hot bed of guerrilla gardens, a network of subterranean mural-lined passages and most recently a permanent al fresco disco. This is what it is now. What could it be in the future? Join in making this the place it deserves to be.
The Church House is the home of the headquarters of the Church of England, occupying the south end of Dean's Yard next to Westminster Abbey in London. Besides providing administrative offices for the Church Commissioners, the Archbishops' Council and the Church of England Pensions Board, and a chamber for the General Synod, the building also provided a meeting place for the Parliament of the United Kingdom during World War II, and for some of the organs of the newly formed United Nations afterward. It has more recently been the venue for several notable public enquiries.OriginsThe idea of a central meeting and administrative building for the Church of England had been raised twice in the mid 19th century and was finally acted upon in 1886 when the Bishop of Carlisle, Harvey Goodwin, suggested in a letter to The Times that the church should construct a "Church House" as a memorial of the Golden Jubilee of Queen Victoria. Accordingly, a charity called the Corporation of the Church House was founded by Royal Charter on 23 February 1888, with the aim of raising the necessary funds and executing the project.
New Scotland Yard , häufig kurz Scotland Yard oder auch nur The Yard genannt, ist ein Gebäude im Londoner Stadtteil City of Westminster. Zudem ist Scotland Yard eine übliche Bezeichnung für die in diesem Gebäude residierende Polizeibehörde Metropolitan Police Service .Diese ist zuständig für Greater London mit Ausnahme der City of London, die als selbstständige Stadt mit der City of London Police über eine eigene Polizeibehörde verfügt. Neben den allgemeinen Polizeiaufgaben führt der MPS auch eine Datenbank über alle Straftäter im Vereinigten Königreich, unterstützt auf Anforderung die regionalen Polizeikräfte bei den Ermittlungen und gibt Hilfestellung bei der Aus- und Weiterbildung aller Polizeikräfte des Commonwealth. Umgangssprachlich ist im deutschsprachigen Raum mit „Scotland Yard“ meist die Londoner Kriminalpolizei gemeint.Das als New Scotland Yard bezeichnete Hauptquartier liegt derzeit in Nr. 8-10 Broadway, einer Seitenstraße der Victoria Street, unweit der Tube-Station St. James’s Park. Ausschilderungen in Richtung Broadway führen in der der U-Bahn-Station direkt zum Eingang des Gebäudes und dem rotierenden New Scotland Yard-Zeichen.
The tower was originally built in 1365 to store the personal treasures of King Edward III. It was used by his successors up until the reign of Edward VI, before it was given to Parliament in the 1500s to house the records for the House of Lords. The tower was later handed over to the Government, when the Department for Weights and Measures used it as their base. The imperial measurements were all standardised here, including the infamous Great British Pint, that all pints still conform to today.
Come visit us today, to see a remarkable medieval survival in the heart of Westminster.
The Supreme Court of the United Kingdom is the supreme court in all matters under English and Welsh law, Northern Ireland law and Scottish civil law. It is the court of last resort and the highest appellate court in the United Kingdom, although the High Court of Justiciary remains the court of last resort for criminal law in Scotland. The Supreme Court also has jurisdiction to resolve disputes relating to devolution in the United Kingdom and concerning the legal powers of the three devolved governments (in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland) or laws made by the devolved legislatures.The Supreme Court was established by Part 3 of the Constitutional Reform Act 2005 and started work on 1 October 2009. It assumed the judicial functions of the House of Lords, which had been exercised by the Lords of Appeal in Ordinary (commonly called "Law Lords"), the 12 judges appointed as members of the House of Lords to carry out its judicial business. Its jurisdiction over devolution matters had previously been exercised by the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council.
St Stephen's Club was a private member's club in Westminster, London, founded in 1870.St Stephen's was originally on the corner of Bridge Street and the Embankment, in London SW1, now the location of Portcullis House. From 1962 it occupied a building at 34 Queen Anne's Gate, overlooking Birdcage Walk and St. James's Park.According to Charles Dickens, Jr., writing in 1879:HistoryTaking its name from St Stephen’s Chapel, the original meeting place of the Commons, the club was initially connected with Conservative Party Members of Parliament and civil engineers. Benjamin Disraeli, twice Prime Minister of the United Kingdom, was among the founding fathers.The original premises were sold to the government in the early 1960s and the club moved to 34 Queen Anne's Gate, the former private house of Lord Glenconner, in 1962.The club was reopened at Queen Anne’s Gate by Harold Macmillan, then prime minister. Traditionally the Chairman of the Conservative Party was the club's president.The club closed as a proprietary membership club and was acquired in January 2003 by James Wilson and Myra Jauncey. It became officially apolitical and operated as a private members' luncheon club and venue for evening functions.
Sea Life London Aquarium Distance: 0.3 miTourist Information County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road London, United Kingdom
Sea Life London Aquarium – placówka turystyczno-edukacyjna, londyńska kolekcja gatunków flory i fauny morskiej i słodkowodnej prezentowana w zabytkowym budynku London County Hall, w bezpośrednim sąsiedztwie London Eye – jedna z największych, obok London Eye, Madame Tussauds i London Dungeon, atrakcji turystycznych Londynu.Akwarium zarządzane przez County Hall Entertainment zostało otwarte w marcu 1997 roku pod nazwą London Aquarium. W maju 2008 roku zostało wykupione przez Merlin Entertainments, a rok później włączone do programu ochrony zasobów morskich działającego w sieci Sea Life i przemianowane na Sea Life London Aquarium. Pod koniec 2010 roku kolekcja zebrana w londyńskim akwarium liczyła ponad 500 gatunków zwierząt zgrupowanych w 14 strefach tematycznych prezentowanych w zbiornikach o łącznej pojemności ponad 2 mln litrów. Jest jedną z największych w Europie kolekcji gatunków organizmów morskich i słodkowodnych, od małych bezkręgowców, przez błazenki, cyruliki, mureny i piranie, po żółwie morskie, rekiny i płaszczki. Oprócz komercyjnej działalności placówka zajmuje się też ochroną gatunków zagrożonych. Wśród podopiecznych londyńskiego akwarium znajduje się para krytycznie zagrożonych wyginięciem krokodyli kubańskich (Crocodylus rhombifer).
The London Dungeon Distance: 0.2 miTourist Information The London Dungeon, County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road London, United Kingdom SE1 7PB
Situated in County Hall next to the Coca-Cola London Eye, the London Dungeon is a 110 minute journey through London's darkest history.
The London Dungeon brings 1000 years of authentic London history to life with a unique mix of talented live actors, stunning special effects, edge of your seat surprises and two exciting thrill rides.
Guests embark on a journey through a dramatic London landscape going back ten centuries. They are guided through ghastly plague-ridden streets, witness Guy Fawkes’ dramatic plot to blow up Parliament, travel back to Jack the Ripper’s bleak Whitechapel and walk beneath London’s foreboding medieval gates.
Expect to meet Sweeney Todd, the infamous Barber, and his evil sidekick, Mrs Lovett alongside Jack the Ripper with one of his unfortunate victims Mary Jane Kelly. They will be joined by murderous monarch Henry VIII ‘virtually’ played by boisterous British acting giant, Brian Blessed, gunpowder plotter Guy Fawkes and a supporting cast of torturers, plague victims and dark jesters. Guests can also expect close encounters with non-human ‘talent’ including giant cockroaches and the Dungeon’s resident family of scurrying rats!
As well as 19 shows, and innumerable unexpected surprises, the attraction will boast two state-of-the art thrill rides with high-tech surprises guaranteed to get adrenaline pumping. A fast flowing boat ride sees guests condemned by Henry VIII – played virtually by boisterous British acting legend Brian Blessed - to a turbulent journey along the dank River Thames towards execution. Whilst on a deadly dark drop ride they will literally be sentenced to ‘take the drop’ as they plunge three stories in the pitch dark. A chilling, screams-guaranteed, Whitechapel labyrinth will baffle guests as they try to escape ‘Jack’ and find their way out of the East End and a strange but fun journey through Balzelgette’s Victorian Sewer system will leave guests in a disorientated spin.
At the end of your tour, join us in the Dungeon Tavern, a Victorian pub experience. Your first drink is on us!
The Cenotaph, Whitehall Distance: 0.4 miTourist Information Whitehall London, United Kingdom SW1A 2BX
The Cenotaph is a war memorial on Whitehall in London, England. Its origin is in a temporary structure erected for a peace parade following the end of the First World War and after an outpouring of national sentiment it was replaced in 1920 by a permanent structure and designated the United Kingdom's primary national war memorial.Designed by Edwin Lutyens, the permanent structure was built from Portland stone between 1919 and 1920 by Holland, Hannen & Cubitts, replacing Lutyens' earlier wood-and-plaster cenotaph in the same location. An annual Service of Remembrance is held at the site on Remembrance Sunday, the closest Sunday to 11 November (Armistice Day) each year. Lutyens' cenotaph design has been reproduced elsewhere in the UK and in other countries including Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Bermuda and Hong Kong.OriginsThe first cenotaph was a wood-and-plaster structure designed by Sir Edwin Lutyens and erected in 1919. It was one of a number of temporary structures erected for the London Victory Parade (also called the Peace Day Parade) on 19 July 1919. It marked the formal end of the First World War that had taken place with the signing of the Treaty of Versailles on 28 June 1919. As one of a series of temporary wooden monuments constructed along the route of the parade, Whitehall's was not proposed until two weeks before the event. Following deliberations by the Peace Celebrations Committee, Lutyens was invited to Downing Street. There, the British Prime Minister, David Lloyd George, proposed that the monument should be a catafalque, like the one intended for the Arc de Triomphe in Paris for the corresponding Victory Parade in France, but Lutyens proposed instead that the design be based on a cenotaph.
Marlborough House is a Grade I listed mansion in the City of Westminster, in The Mall, London, east of St James's Palace. It was built for Sarah Churchill, Duchess of Marlborough, the favourite and confidante of Queen Anne. For over a century it served as the London residence of the Dukes of Marlborough. It is now the headquarters of the Commonwealth Secretariat.ConstructionThe Duchess wanted her new house to be "strong, plain and convenient and good". The architect Christopher Wren and his son of the same name designed a brick building with rusticated stone quoins (cornerstones) that was completed in 1711.The house was taken up by the Crown in 1817. In the 1820s plans were drawn up to demolish Marlborough House and replace it with a terrace of similar dimensions to the two in neighbouring Carlton House Terrace, and this idea even featured on some contemporary maps, including Christopher and John Greenwood's large-scale London map of 1830, but the proposal was not implemented.
Bankside is a district of London, England, and part of the London Borough of Southwark. Bankside is located on the southern bank of the River Thames, 1.5mi east of Charing Cross, running from a little west of Blackfriars Bridge to just a short distance before London Bridge at St Mary Overie Dock to the east which marks its distinct status from that of 'the Borough' district of Southwark. It is part of a business improvement district known as Better Bankside.
The iconic Oxo Tower Wharf is an award-winning, landmark building situated on the riverside walkway of London's fast moving South Bank. With its famous tower, spectacular river views and fascinating mix of design, food, shopping and art, Oxo Tower Wharf is a unique London destination not to be missed!
Oxo Tower Wharf is home to some of the UK’s most innovative and internationally renowned contemporary design boutiques and studios, offering the best in contemporary art, jewellery, fashion, lighting and homeware. There are also a number of restaurants, cafes and bars, including the famous OXO Tower Restaurant, Bar & Brasserie, with its free public gallery offering breathtaking views across the river to the City and St Paul's.
While visiting, don't forget to drop into the Wharf's exhibition venues [email protected] and Bargehouse, offering a changing programme of free exhibitions including art, photography, sculpture and new media. www.coinstreet.org/whatson/exhibitions-and-events
Oxo Tower Wharf is owned and managed by Coin Street Community Builders [CSCB], a social enterprise whose work seeks to make the South Bank a better place to live, work and visit. Since 1984 CSCB has transformed a largely derelict riverside site into a thriving mixed-use neighbourhood, providing parks, shopping, restaurants, festivals, galleries, homes and community facilities.
This Facebook page is managed by CSCB - you can follow all our news at www.facebook.com/CoinStreet!
You can also follow us on Twitter:
The Vaudeville Theatre is a West End theatre on the Strand in the City of Westminster. As the name suggests, the theatre held mostly vaudeville shows and musical revues in its early days. It opened in 1870 and was rebuilt twice, although each new building retained elements of the previous structure. The current building opened in 1926, and the capacity is now 690 seats. Rare thunder drum and lightning sheets, together with other early stage mechanisms survive in the theatre.HistoryOriginsThe theatre was designed by prolific architect C. J. Phipps, decorated in a Romanesque style by George Gordon, and opened on 16 April 1870 with Andrew Halliday's comedy, For Love Or Money and a burlesque, Don Carlos or the Infante in Arms. A notable innovation was the concealed footlights, which would shut off if the glass in front of them was broken. The owner, William Wybrow Robertson, had run a failing billiard hall on the site but saw more opportunity in theatre. He leased the new theatre to three actors, Thomas Thorne, David James, and H.J. Montague. The original theatre stood behind two houses on the Strand, and the entrance was through a labyrinth of small corridors. It had a seating capacity of 1,046, rising in a horseshoe, over a pit and three galleries. The cramped site meant that facilities front and backstage were limited.